Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
21

Bonne Fête de la Musique

Slim & The Beast cover Neil Young's "Harvest Moon"
21

Each year on the summer solstice, the entire country of France takes to the streets to celebrate the Féte de la Musique, which originated in Paris in the early 1980s.

On June 21, 2024, my former band, Slim & The Beast, reunited after two years of being apart to play an impromptu set. My twin brother,

, is the star of this song, a cover of Neil Young’s “Harvest Moon” (you’ll also find a professionally recorded + filmed version down below).

The vibe of Fête de la Musique cannot possibly be captured on even the smartest of phones, but I wanted to share a few videos down below (one of people dancing in the street to our song “Billie” + docile debauchery) because I’m finally taking a few days off of a busy walking tour season to head to the Côte d’Azur for the first time in my fifteen years in France (I wanted to find a beautiful seaside village for me and

; it took all of five minutes to find a town called Beaulieu-sur-mer (beautiful place on the sea).

I love France.

There’s so much more to say about Fête de la Musique, but I must now catch a train to Nice. Songs and dance will have to suffice.

And finally, a professionally recorded video of “Harvest Moon” from four years ago, for all of the sticklers for audio and video quality amongst us.

Leave a comment

21 Comments
if not, Paris
film & song
piano, vocals & film
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Samuél Lopez-Barrantes
Aaron Lopez Barrantes