if not, Paris
Finishing the Hat: Writerly Interviews
Finishing the Hat w/ Dale L. Roberts
15
0:00
-38:11

Finishing the Hat w/ Dale L. Roberts

on indie publishing & taking back control from the gatekeepers
15

Last autumn, I felt that only engaging with fellow

in the comments section wasn’t enough, which is why I started an interview series called Finishing the Hat.

For the first five episodes of Finishing the Hat (2023), I chatted about YA literature & art of fiction with

; satire and subversive innovation with ; utopian literature & the end of traditional publishing with ; capitalism & the soul of art with ; and , with whom I played in a funk band in Burlington, VT (sweet, sweet memories of Nectars) and who’s taught me a whole lot about my favorite “ism,” metamodernism.1

if not, Paris is a reader-supported publication. Thank you to my 77 paying subscribers, whose support allows me to continue this work.

Finishing the Hat, Season 2

As many of you know, a few months ago I successfully published my second novel, The Requisitions, a historical metafiction set Nazi-occupied Poland, via me and my wife

’s Paris-based imprint, Kingdom Anywhere.2

The limited edition of 300 copies sold out quite quickly (largely thanks to my

community), which is why later this month I’ll be going on a miniature book tour in Provincetown, MA (East End Books) before heading to my hometowns of Durham and Chapel Hill, NC (Flyleaf Books) and rounding out the year with readings in Paris, London, and an attempt to break into the international markets at the 2024 Frankfurt Book Festival.

connection > capital

It took me a long time to develop the confidence and conviction to buy back the rights to my debut novel, Slim and The Beast, and to finally decide to publish The Requisitions independently this year, and it’s only because of writers humans like the aforementioned Substack writers that continue to have hope, motivation, and energy to subvert the traditional publishing industry.

Note: The above video shows our laughing faces, but it doesn’t include the episode’s edited audio or the piano song I recorded at the lovely French country home of

.

Dale, the first guest of Season 2 of Finishing the Hat, is no exception

I spent quite a few hours researching the nuts & bolts of indie publishing before I came across Dale of

, who was one of the very few people I discovered on the Internet who was authentic, honest, and transparent about how he had subverted the trad pub industry (Dale’s YouTube channel is a fantastic resource for anyone researching indie publishing).

Modesty and generosity are hard to come by in this era wherein cults of personality and celebrity capital dominate most definitions of success.

Indeed, when it comes to many “self-publishing gurus” online, most end up hoarding the very information they promise to offer, placing their supposed-wisdom behind a paywall, demanding followers without any guarantee of leading them anywhere (once upon a time, collecting followers was reserved for cult leaders).

This is why it was so refreshing to discover

’ videos, and why I decided to send him this email in hopes of having a conversation:

Dale’s willingness to have a chat—and particularly the following quote from our conversation—pretty much sums up why I believe Dale is in it for the right reasons:

“I wish I could say traditional publishing companies have blown up my inbox but no, they haven’t, and I think it’s because I’m very public about the fact that I like self-publishing. They need to come to me with a sweetheart deal, and that sweetheart deal would include control that they probably don’t want to sacrifice. Control is so important. If I can maintain control, I am willing to sacrifice earnings. But that’s just my personal philosophy. ”

Here’s to a new season of Finishing the Hat, to cultivating community in all the myriad ways that help us grow, and to supporting the folks who inspire us make us feel alive.

Finishing the Hat shall remain free because my conversation with

was a refreshing reminder of how you can’t put a price on connection.

Leave a comment

Discussion about this podcast

if not, Paris
Finishing the Hat: Writerly Interviews
Picture a dive-bar to chat about life, writing and all the rest of it, with writers who focus on the work vs. the personality
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Samuél Lopez-Barrantes
Dale L. Roberts